ArtCOP21

Une conférence de Performance Bill Double

Deke Weaver | Meghan Moe Beitiks

14 - 15 Nov 2015, 7 - 8:30pm

Defibrillator Performance Art Gallery, Illinois

davidBETHglowingSCREEN.jpg

photo by Valerie Oliveiro

Quand

14 - 15 Nov 2015
7 - 8:30pm
Performance Lecture Double-Bill
SAT 14 NOV @7pm
Deke Weaver and Meghan Moe Beitiks present different approaches to ecological issues through performative lecture

Panel Discussion
SUN 15 NOV @3PM
with JGV/WAR (WILLIAM RUGGIERO and GIBRAN VILLALOBOS)
Conversations regarding commonalities in the recent work of Deke Weaver and Meghan Moe Beitiks including explorations of new materialism, object-oriented ontology, ecological stewardship and political activism.

Defibrillator Performance Art Gallery
1463 West Chicago Ave
Chicago, Illinois,  60642
United States
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

Artistes Deke Weaver et Meghan Moe Beitiks conférences présente des performances qui explorent les thèmes de la crise écologique, la mégafaune charismatique, la communication et le non-humain. Suivi par un panel de discussion avec JGV / WAR (Gibran Villobos et William Ruggiero), touchant à l'ontologie orientée objet

DEKE WEAVER

En raison de la mise à feu de Stephen Salaita et le boycott ultérieur de l'Université de l'Illinois (Urbana-Champaign), artiste / activiste Claire Pentecôte n'a pas été en mesure d'accepter l'invitation de UIUC étudiants histoire de l'art de diplômés pour donner le discours d'ouverture de la Mars ici à 2015 Nouveau Terrains: Le paysage Évalué colloque. L'attaque de l'Université sur la liberté académique et la liberté d'expression a révélé un mépris condescendant pour l'art et les sciences humaines. Pas de surprise là. Bien qu'il est pas le protocole d'avoir un membre du corps professoral soit l'honneur à l'institution parraine l'événement, le boycott a besoin de souplesse. Les étudiants m'a demandé de donner la parole. La dernière année et demie m'a eu à chercher des moyens d'expliquer comment l'art peut importe au milieu des catastrophes lents tels que le changement climatique, l'extinction de masse, et faire fondre culturelle vers le bas.



Cette version de Choisissez votre Grizzly est un hybride de la Mars ici à 2015 la performance-conférence originale et quelques très tôt fonctionnement de TIGER qui a été développé dans le cadre de Effectuer Midwest: l'incubation de recherche en collaboration, un projet financé par les sciences humaines Without Walls consortium.



MEGHAN MOE BEITIKS

"Discours: Projecteur: Plante: Filtre" est une conférence performative, une tentative pour faciliter une conversation entre un ordinateur portable, une bombe d'air, une usine et un projecteur par des actes de la respiration. Partie d'une série "Discours", le travail est une exploration de la communication et son effet sur l'écologie à travers l'art.



Dans son livre "Vibrant Matter," Jane Bennett affirme "Nous avons besoin. . . de concevoir de nouvelles procédures, des technologies et des régimes de perception qui nous permettent de consulter les non-humains de plus près. . . pour ces offres sont profondément important pour la santé des écologies politiques auxquelles nous appartenons. "Moe voit la performance comme l'un de ces« régimes de perception », influencé par la théorie de Karen Barad du" Réalisme agential »et l'idée de Foucault du discours. Dans la pensée de Barad, toute matière est mutuellement empêtré, défini par ses «intra-actions», et pour Foucault, il est dans le discours que le pouvoir est créé.



La question dans les «discours» devient alors: comment allons-nous communiquons inconsciemment avec le non-humanité avec des plantes, des objets, des bactéries? Comment conventions humaines, les cultures et les mèmes construire cette communication? Quel est l'impact de cette communication ont sur notre relation au paysage? Dans "Discours: Projecteur: Plante: Filtre,« ces questions sont examinées par le souffle et la respiration.

Defibrillator Performance Art Gallery

Joseph Ravens

JGV/WAR

Tags

, ,

Partager

ArtCOP21

A Performance Lecture Double Bill

Deke Weaver | Meghan Moe Beitiks

14 - 15 Nov 2015, 7 - 8:30pm

Defibrillator Performance Art Gallery, Illinois

davidBETHglowingSCREEN.jpg

photo by Valerie Oliveiro

When

14 - 15 Nov 2015
7 - 8:30pm
Performance Lecture Double-Bill
SAT 14 NOV @7pm
Deke Weaver and Meghan Moe Beitiks present different approaches to ecological issues through performative lecture

Panel Discussion
SUN 15 NOV @3PM
with JGV/WAR (WILLIAM RUGGIERO and GIBRAN VILLALOBOS)
Conversations regarding commonalities in the recent work of Deke Weaver and Meghan Moe Beitiks including explorations of new materialism, object-oriented ontology, ecological stewardship and political activism.

Where

Defibrillator Performance Art Gallery
1463 West Chicago Ave
Chicago, Illinois,  60642
United States
Show on map

Type

Visit website

Artists Deke Weaver and Meghan Moe Beitiks present performance lectures that explore themes of ecological crisis, charismatic megafauna, communication and the non-human. Followed by a panel discussion with JGV/WAR (Gibran Villobos and William Ruggiero), touching on object-oriented ontology and political activism.

DEKE WEAVER
Because of the firing of Stephen Salaita and the subsequent boycott of the University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign), artist/activist Claire Pentecost was not able to accept the invitation from UIUC art history graduate students to give the keynote speech for the March 2015 New Terrains: The Landscape Reviewed symposium. The University’s attack on academic freedom and free speech has revealed a patronizing contempt for art and the humanities. No surprise there. Although it is not protocol to have a faculty member be the keynote at the institution sponsoring the event, the boycott has required flexibility. The students asked me to give the talk. The past year and a half has had me searching for ways to articulate how art can matter in the midst of slow moving catastrophes such as climate change, mass extinction, and cultural melt down.

This version of Choose Your Grizzly is a hybrid of the original March 2015 performance-lecture and some very early workings of TIGER which was developed as part of Perform Midwest: Incubating Collaborative Research, a project funded by the Humanities Without Walls consortium.

MEGHAN MOE BEITIKS
"Discourse:Projector:Plant:Filter" is a performative lecture, an attempt to facilitate a conversation between a laptop, a can of air, a plant and a projector through acts of respiration. Part of a “Discourse” series, the work is be an exploration of communication and its effect on ecologies through art.

In her book “Vibrant Matter,” Jane Bennett asserts “We need . . . to devise new procedures, technologies, and regimes of perception that enable us to consult nonhumans more closely . . . for these offerings are profoundly important to the health of the political ecologies to which we belong.” Moe sees performance as one of these “regimes of perception,” influenced by Karen Barad’s theory of “Agential Realism” and Foucault’s idea of discourse. In Barad’s thinking, all matter is mutually entangled, defined by its “intra-actions,” and for Foucault, it is within discourse that power is created.

The question within “Discourse” then becomes: how are we unconsciously communicating with the non-human– with plants, objects, bacteria? How do human conventions, cultures and memes construct this communication? What impact does this communication have on our relationship to landscape? In "Discourse:Projector:Plant:Filter," these questions are explored through breath and respiration.

Defibrillator Performance Art Gallery
Joseph Ravens
JGV/WAR

Tags

, , ,

Share