ArtCOP21

CHAPTER 6 IN WHICH WE SIT LIKE DOCILE CATTLE WHILE YOU USE THE AESTHETICS OF PUNK ROCK TO SELL CREDIT CARDS BACK TO US

Exposition de Robert Montgomery avec Galerie Nuke et Istanbul74

21 - 27 Oct 2015, 11am - 7pm

Galerie Nikki Diana Marquadt, Paris

2491-0b528eb5f05ff735f7f745acd78d9727

Quand

21 - 27 Oct 2015
11am - 7pm

Galerie Nikki Diana Marquadt
10 rue de Turenne
Paris,  75004
France
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

Nouvelle exposition de l'artiste poète écossais Robert Montgomery, présentée par la Galerie Nuke et Istanbul74 pour célébrer les dix ans de la communauté créative NUKE, Génération polluée.

CHAPTER 6 IN WHICH WE SIT LIKE DOCILE CATTLE WHILE YOU USE THE AESTHETICS OF PUNK ROCK TO SELL CREDIT CARDS BACK TO US

Exposition du 21 au 27 Octobre 2015

Ouverture privée Mardi 20 Octobre, 19h - 22h

Fiac Nocturne Jeudi 22 Octobre, 19h - 22h

Robert Montgomery, artiste et poète écossais, dont le travail amène une voix poétique au discours de text art, s'inscrit dans la tradition de l’art conceptuel. Dans sa dernière exposition, CHAPTER 6 IN WHICH WE SIT LIKE DOCILE CATTLE WHILE YOU USE THE AESTHETICS OF PUNK ROCK TO SELL CREDIT CARDS BACK TO US, Montgomery explore des questions écologiques et sociales à travers des aquarelles, des gravures sur bois, des panneaux lumineux à basse consommation, et une installation nouvelle faite de cuivre, de verre recyclé, et d'ampoules LED 12v.

Cette exposition, réalisée en collaboration avec ARTCOP21 de la conférence COP21 sur le changement climatique, pendant FIAC Paris, dévoilent plusieurs nouvelles œuvres de l'artiste qui poursuivent l’engagement constant de celui-ci avec le texte Marxiste séminal « La Société du Spectacle » de Guy Debord. Nous nous trouvons actuellement en plein milieu du chapitre 6 « Le temps spectaculaire » dans lequel tous les vestiges de la vie sont devenus marchandisés. Les médias et le consumérisme sont sur l’overdrive post-industrialisation, et nous ne sommes plus conscients de nous-mêmes ou de l’effet que nous avons sur le monde actuel. Avec des références subtiles à Jack Kerouac ou à Ezra Pound, le travail de Montgomery nous pousse à être plus attentifs aux questions environnementales ou écologiques en faisant allusion à l’insoutenabilité de cette cité électrique que nous avons créée et en soulignant la nécessité d’une transformation radicale de notre mode de vie – un thème pertinent aux vues de la conférence des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques qui se tiendra prochainement à Paris cette année.

« SODIUM VAPOUR HALO ARCH AND THE FICTIONAL PROTECTORS OF CLOUD MEMORY GATHERED UP LIKE THIS, HOLDING EACH OTHER IGNORING THE TIME OF THE ICE CAP MELTS/ THE NORTHERN WHITE COLD CANDLES KEEP THEIR SLID MEASURE ON US »

Cette exposition est présentée par Galerie Nuke et Istanbul74 à l’occasion des dix ans de la « Génération polluée », la communauté créative de Nuke. Une génération hors-sol, enfermée dans un édifice construit par ses pères, qu’elle continue d’élever, mais qui néanmoins vacille. Ce sont des artistes mis face aux enjeux et obsessions du monde contemporain, qui se n'ont d'autres choix que de créer une nouvelle mythologie pour faire leurs legs.

En partenariat avec
Anna Jill Lüpertz Gallery
Artcop21
Coal
Each x Other
Distanz

ArtCOP21

CHAPTER 6 IN WHICH WE SIT LIKE DOCILE CATTLE WHILE YOU USE THE AESTHETICS OF PUNK ROCK TO SELL CREDIT CARDS BACK TO US

Exhibition by Robert Montgomery, with Galerie Nuke and Istanbul74

21 - 27 Oct 2015, 11am - 7pm

Galerie Nikki Diana Marquadt, Paris

2491-0b528eb5f05ff735f7f745acd78d9727

When

21 - 27 Oct 2015
11am - 7pm

Where

Galerie Nikki Diana Marquadt
10 rue de Turenne
Paris,  75004
France
Show on map

Type

Visit website

New exhibition by Scottish artist and poet Robert Montgomery follows a tradition of conceptual art, his work bringing a poetic voice to the discourse of text art. In his latest exhibition, CHAPTER 6 IN WHICH WE SIT LIKE DOCILE CATTLE WHILE YOU USE THE AESTHETICS OF PUNK ROCK TO SELL CREDIT CARDS BACK TO US, Montgomery explores ecological and social concerns through his watercolours, woodcuts, energy efficient light panels, and a new installation piece made from copper, recycled glass, and 12 volt LED lighting.

Galerie Nuke and Istanbul74 presents

CHAPTER 6 IN WHICH WE SIT LIKE DOCILE CATTLE WHILE YOU USE THE AESTHETICS OF PUNK ROCK TO SELL CREDIT CARDS BACK TO US

Exhibition 21 – 27 October 2015
Private opening Tuesday 20 October, 7-10pm
Fiac Nocturne Thursday 22 October, 7-10pm

This exhibition, realised in partnership with ARTCOP21 of the COP21 climate conference, taking place during the Paris FIAC, showcases several new works that build on Montgomery’s on-going engagement with the seminal text “The Society of the Spectacle” by Situationist philosopher Guy Debord. We currently find ourselves in the middle of chapter 6, “Spectacular Time”, in which every last vestige of our lives has become commodified. Media and consumerism are on post-industrialisation overdrive, and we are no longer aware of ourselves, or of the impact we exert on the world around us. With subtle references to Jack Kerouac and Ezra Pound, Montgomery’s work implores us to take note of environmental and ecological issues, alluding to the unsustainability of the electric city that we have developed and highlighting the necessity of a radical change in lifestyle – a pertinent theme given that the United Nations Climate Change Conference will be unfolding in Paris later this year.

“SODIUM VAPOUR HALO ARCH AND THE FICTIONAL PROTECTORS OF CLOUD MEMORY GATHERED UP LIKE THIS, HOLDING EACH OTHER IGNORING THE TIME OF THE ICE CAP MELTS/ THE NORTHERN WHITE COLD CANDLES KEEP THEIR SLID MEASURE ON US”

This exhibition is presented by Galerie Nuke and Istanbul74, celebrating ten years of the “Génération polluée”, Nuke’s creative community. A rootless generation confined to a structure built by their forefathers – a structure that continues to grow but is beginning to sway. These are artists faced with the stakes and obsessions of the contemporary world, but who seek to create a new league of myths to carry on their trail.

In partnership with
Anna Jill Lüpertz Gallery
Artcop21
Coal
Each x Other
Distanz

Tags

, , , ,

Share