ArtCOP21

Climate Coast

Installation de Iain Ellery

30 Nov - 11 Dec 2015, All Day

Hope Gap, East Sussex

Iain-Ellery-image1.jpg

Quand

30 Nov - 11 Dec 2015
All Day
The exhibition will not be accessible during high tide.

Hope Gap
Hope Gap, Cuckmere Haven
Seaford, East Sussex,  BN25 4AR
United Kingdom
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

21 sphères en feuilles et en bois seront placées à Hope Gap, une petite plage connue pour ses espèces éteintes et le risque actuel de la montée des mers. L'installation restera en place le temps de la COP21 de Paris.

"Climate Coast" se compose de 21 sphères fabriquées à partir de bois de saule recouverts de feuilles cirées, chacune avec un diamètre de 12 cm environ. Tout les quatre jours l'installation sera ajustée, de sorte qu'elle se déplace d'un état initial inachevé avec des sphères incomplètes, à un état où, le huitième jour, les 21 seront terminées.

Ce travail envisage un avenir où l'idée d'une distinction entre le monde naturel et l'humanité a disparu. Il serait un endroit où les gens vivent consciemment et travaillent pour le bien-être de la nature. Ce monde là est une chose que nous devons créer maintenant, avant que le changement climatique, ainsi que d'autres défis environnementaux, rende notre monde inhabitable.

"Climatic Coast" se tiendra à Hope Gap, une petite plage contre des falaises de craie qui contiennent des fossiles de l'ère du Crétacé supérieur. Ce site est maintenant menacée par l'élévation du niveau de la mer. L'exposition aura lieu au cours de la COP21 de Paris.

Tags

, ,

Partager

ArtCOP21

Climate Coast

Iain Ellery

30 Nov - 11 Dec 2015, All Day

Hope Gap, East Sussex

Iain-Ellery-image1.jpg

When

30 Nov - 11 Dec 2015
All Day
The exhibition will not be accessible during high tide.

Where

Hope Gap
Hope Gap, Cuckmere Haven
Seaford, East Sussex,  BN25 4AR
United Kingdom
Show on map

Type

Visit website

Climate Coast - 21 spheres made from wood and leaves will be placed at Hope Gap, a small East Sussex beach known for extinct species, and now endangered by sea-level rise. The work will remain there for the duration of the Paris climate summit.

Climate Coast consists of 21 spheres made from willow frames covered by waxed leaves, each with a diameter of about 12 cm. Every fourth day the work will be adjusted, so that it moves from an unfinished state, with the spheres being incomplete, to a state where, by the eighth day, all 21 are completed.

This work - looking across the Channel towards Paris - considers a future where the idea of a distinction between the natural world and humanity has faded. It is a place where people are consciously living within, and working towards the well-being of nature. And it is something we must create now, before climate change, together with other environmental challenges, makes our world uninhabitable.

Climate Coast will take place at Hope Gap, a small East Sussex beach set against chalk cliffs that contain Late Cretaceous era fossils. This site is now endangered by sea-level rise. The exhibition will take place during the Paris climate summit.

Tags

, , ,

Share