ArtCOP21

Evaporation: En conversation

Tania Kovats et Jonathan Dove

24 Oct 2015, 7 - 8pm

Museum of Science and Industry, Manchester

Tania-and-Jonathan.jpg

Tania Kovats and Jonathan Dove (© Andrew Palmer)

Quand

24 Oct 2015
7 - 8pm

Museum of Science and Industry
1830 Warehouse, MOSI
Liverpool Road, Castlefield, Manchester,  M3 4FP
United Kingdom
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

Internationalement célèbre artiste Tania Kovats dans une conversation avec le compositeur « Gaia Theory » Jonathan Dove sur la façon dont leurs œuvres portent sur les mers et les océans et le principe Gaia de Lovelock.

Diriger la conversation sera océanographe de renom Dr Simon Boxall de l'Université de Southampton.

Prenant la théorie Gaia de James Lovelock – de la terre comme un super-organisme interconnecté – comme son point de départ, cette nouvelle pièce sculpturale explore organismes mondiaux de l'eau. Le travail de Lovelock concentre beaucoup d'attention sur l'importance des océans des planètes comme un baromètre de sa santé, et comment mieux comprendre comment la planète se régule. Comme les températures mondiales de la mer monte et l'impact de la pollution est de plus en plus clair, ce travail est plus vitale que jamais.

L'installation de Kovats est composée de grande échelle, bols métalliques reflétant la forme des océans de la planète levées du globe. Chaque bol contient une solution de sel et de l'encre bleue qui évapore progressivement dans un hydro cycle, laissant une croûte de bijou-comme des cristaux de sel en anneaux concentriques. Ce sera un objet avec ses propres marées; différente à chaque fois qu'un spectateur voit.

Parallèlement à l'installation sera permiere monde de «La Vague», une pièce chorale spécial créé par le célèbre BBC Proms 'Gaia' Compositeur Jonathan Dove. Dove travailler avec des musiciens et des artistes de la Northern College Royal de Musique (RNCM), en quête d'inspiration dans les océans et les marées célébrés dans le travail de Tania. Cette nouvelle pièce de marque sera partagée avec le public toute la journée dans une série de performances de roulement au coeur de l'espace de la galerie 1830 (Toute la journée, le 25 Octobre).

Événement par Cape Farewell.
Avec grâce au Royal Northern College of Music et le Musée de la Science et de l'Industrie , Manchester.

ArtCOP21

Evaporation: In Conversation

Talks with Tania Kovats and Jonathan Dove

24 Oct 2015, 7 - 8pm

Museum of Science and Industry, Manchester

Tania-and-Jonathan.jpg

Tania Kovats and Jonathan Dove (© Andrew Palmer)

When

24 Oct 2015
7 - 8pm

Where

Museum of Science and Industry
1830 Warehouse, MOSI
Liverpool Road, Castlefield, Manchester,  M3 4FP
United Kingdom
Show on map

Type

Visit website

Internationally acclaimed artist Tania Kovats in conversation with BBC 'Gaia Theory' composer Jonathan Dove on how their works ('Evaporation' & 'The Wave') relate to the seas and oceans and Lovelock's Gaia principle.

Leading the conversation will be renowned oceanographer Dr. Simon Boxall of the University of Southampton.

Taking James Lovelock’s Gaia theory – of the earth as an interconnected super organism – as her starting point, this new sculptural piece explores global bodies of water. Lovelock’s work focused much attention on the significance of the planets’ oceans as a barometer of its health, and how better to understand how the planet regulates itself. As global sea temperatures rise and the impact of pollution is becoming increasingly clear, this work is more vital than ever.

Kovats’ installation is comprised of large-scale, shallow, metal bowls reflecting the shape of the world’s oceans lifted from the globe. Each bowl contains a solution of salt and blue ink that gradually evaporates in a hydro-cycle, leaving a jewel-like crust of salt crystals in concentric rings. This will be an object with its own tides; different each time a viewer sees it.

Alongside the installation will be world permiere of 'The Wave', a special choral piece created by renowned BBC Proms 'Gaia' Composer Jonathan Dove. Dove will work with musicians and performers from the Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM), seeking inspiration from the oceans and tides celebrated in Tania’s work. This brand new piece will be shared with the public throughout the day in a series of rolling performance in the heart of the 1830 gallery space (All day, 25th October).

Event by Cape Farewell.
With thanks to the Royal Northern College of Music and Museum of Science and Industry, Manchester.