ArtCOP21

Fiddling while Rome burns: Mosaics about climate change

Oeuvre de Julie Sperling

12 Nov 2015 - 06 Mar 2016, All Day

Evergreen Brick Works, Toronto

DSC_0012-001.jpg

Julie Sperling

Quand

12 Nov 2015 - 06 Mar 2016
All Day
There will also be an artist talk on Saturday, November 14 @ 2pm

Evergreen Brick Works
550 Bayview Ave.
Toronto,  M4W 3X8
Canada
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

Chaque mosaïque de la série “Fiddling while Rome burns: Mosaics about climate change” aborde un concept différent relié au changement climatique, par exemple, la hausse de la température globale, la précipitation changeante, et la différence entre la météo et le climat.

Les oeuvres mettent en valeur une grande diversité de matériaux, chacun choisi délibérément pour communiquer une idée ou un message spécifique. Des morceaux de charbon nous aident à explorer les effets nocifs du carbone noir, des coquilles dégradées sont les vedettes d’une mosaïque au sujet de l’acidification des océans, et des couches de peinture transmettent la complexité du dialogue global sur les changements climatiques.

La mosaïque est un moyen puissant de sensibiliser les gens au sujet du réchauffement de la planète, non seulement grâce à sa matérialité, mais aussi parce qu’il existe des parallèles interessants entre cet art et le changement climatique. Les deux sont les fruits de processus lents et graduels, et chacun dépend du pouvoir de la collectivité. Des tesselles individuelles de pierre et de verre œuvrent de concert pour créer quelque chose de plus impressionnant, et les actions individuelles représentent une contribution significative à la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

En plus de l’exposition, il y aura aussi une conférence (“Climat brisé: La perspective d’une mosaïste sur les changements climatiques”) samedi le 14 novembre à 14h.

Exposé à Evergreen Brick Works

Tags

, , , ,

Partager

ArtCOP21

Fiddling while Rome burns: Mosaics about climate change

Work by Julie Sperling

12 Nov 2015 - 06 Mar 2016, All Day

Evergreen Brick Works, Toronto

DSC_0012-001.jpg

Julie Sperling

When

12 Nov 2015 - 06 Mar 2016
All Day
There will also be an artist talk on Saturday, November 14 @ 2pm

Where

Evergreen Brick Works
550 Bayview Ave.
Toronto,  M4W 3X8
Canada
Show on map

Type

Visit website

The mosaics in Julie Sperling’s “Fiddling while Rome burns” series each tackle a different trend or concept, from rising temperatures to changing precipitation trends to the difference between weather and climate.

The works showcase a diversity of materials, each one carefully chosen to convey a particular idea or message; pieces of coal are used to explore the harmful effects of black carbon, degraded seashells are front and centre in a mosaic about ocean acidification, and layers of graffiti paint speak to the complex dialogue surrounding climate change.

Mosaic is a powerful medium to communicate about climate change, not only because of its materiality, but also because of the parallels that exist between the art form and global climate change. Not only are both very slow, gradual processes, but each one also depends on the power of the collective. Individual pieces of stone and glass come together to create something bigger, and individual actions add up and make a difference in the fight against climate change.

In addition to this exhibition, there will be an artist talk “Climate in pieces: A mosaicist’s perspective on climate change” held on Saturday, November 14, 2015 at 2pm.

Hosted by Evergreen Brick Works

Tags

, , , ,

Share