ArtCOP21

TEZA

Projet du groupe Letting Space

20 - 29 Nov 2015, All Day

Paprirua, Nouvelle Zelande, Auckland

teza

http://lettingspaceorgnz.squarespace.com/transitional-economic-zone-of/

Quand

20 - 29 Nov 2015
All Day

Paprirua, Nouvelle Zelande
C/O 59 Minnehaha Avenue, Titirangi
Auckland,  604
New Zealand
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

TEZA (la zone de transition économique d'Aotearoa), organisé par le groupe Letting Space, est un projet d'une semaine à Paprirua en Nouvelle Zelande impliquant une sélection d'artistes néo-zélandais tels que Kim Paton, Mark Harvey, David Cooke, Tim Barlow. Ce projet a pour objectif d'éveiller nos consciences sur ce qu'est la santé dans le contexte actuel du changement climatique et des inégalités de masse.

TEZA (la zone de transition économique d'Aotearoa), organisé par le groupe Letting Space a pour objectif d'éveiller nos consciences sur ce qu'est la santé dans le contexte actuel du changement climatique et des inégalités de masse.

Le groupe de producteurs d'art public Letting Space a élaboré une programmation riche de projets qui ponctuent la TEZA, un événement bi-annuel qui met en avant les nouvelles formes d'échanges et d'économies. La zone de transition économique d'Aotearoa a vu sa première manifestation se dérouler en novembre 2013 à Christchurch, un lieu où la population devait déjà repenser de manière créative les moyens fondamentaux d'interagir et de s'organiser.

Tout les projets et les communautés de Porirua feront partie d'une “zone économique” qui mettra en valeur l'échange réciproque entre les 21 et 29 novembre autour de Porirua City. Le centre de tout ces projets est actuellement basé dans un bâtiment désaffecté, anciennement occupé par le premier Mac Macdonald de Nouvelle-Zélande. Empruntant au concept de zones internationales qui exploitent les ressources locales pour les besoins des multinationales, TEZA est un moyen de montrer des économies avec des bénéfices mutuels plutôt que des bénéfices d'exploitation.

TEZA explore la manière dont un groupe d'artistes peut échanger avec les autres pour le bien local. TEZA sera un lieu pour échanger les idées, avec des workshops et présentations de projets qui sont des nouveaux systèmes d'échanges. TEZA a pour objectif de montrer comment les artistes et le public peuvent tous contribuer à développer des modèles économiques alternatifs.

A une époque où les espaces sont tous considérés comme globalement homogène, TEZA s'interroge sur la façon dont un groupe d'artistes néo-zélandais peut se distinguer avec une identité singulière et travailler avec les communautés locales.

TEZA souhaite montrer comment les projets artistiques temporaires peuvent provoquer des changements durables ; parce que la vie est une période de transition, une série d'instants flottants, plutôt qu'une période gouvernée par des structures permanentes.

Le modèle TEZA est inspiré des zones économiques spéciales, communément utilisée par les compagnies multinationales en Asie et en Afrique pour extraire les ressources d'un territoire. TEZA souhaite créer une zone autonome qui ne donne pas uniquement une liberté coercitive mais aussi la liberté de créer de nouvelles relation. Cela permet la reconnaissance de nouveaux systèmes de valeurs et de nouvelles formes d'échanges.

Le projet TEZA se présentera sous une plate-forme physiques et digitale afin d'aller au delà de son site physique. En agissant de la sorte, l'objectif est d'éviter toute formes d'isolation, de créer des liens et d'encourager de nouveaux types de commerces localement, nationalement et internationalement.

ArtCOP21

teza

http://lettingspaceorgnz.squarespace.com/transitional-economic-zone-of/

When

20 - 29 Nov 2015
All Day

Where

Letting Space
Prorirua
Wellington,  604
New Zealand
Show on map

Type

Visit website

TEZA (the Transitional Economic Zone of Aotearoa), commissioned and curated by Letting Space is an artist led project community week-long project in Poprirua, Aoteaora/New Zealand involving a selection of NZ artists such as Kim Paton, Mark Harvey, David Cooke, Tim Barlow, aiming to change our ideas about what wealth is, under the current context of climate change and mass inequality.

TEZA (the Transitional Economic Zone of Aotearoa) is an artist led project commissioned and curated by Letting Space aiming to change our ideas about what wealth is, under the current context of mass inequality and climate change.

Public art producers Letting Space have confirmed a wide ranging programme of projects that form the wider Transitional Economic Zone of Aotearoa (TEZA), a bi-annual event that highlights new forms of exchange and economic wellbeing. The Transitional Economic Zone of Aotearoa has its first iteration in November 2013 in Christchurch, a place where people have already had to creatively rethink fundamental ways of interacting and organising.

A DIY coffin service, a “People’s Library”, a Porirua Loaf baking kitchen, a Volunteer Refinery (for climate chnage) and a roots festival (for sustainable living and community engagement) at the time are some of the items that will integrate Porirua locals with artists from across New Zealand. Some of the artists include Kim Paton, Mark Harvey, David Cooke, Tim Barlow.

All projects and the communities of Porirua will form part of an ‘economic zone’ which highlights beneficial reciprocal exchange running between November 21-29th around Porirua City. The hub of these projects is currently based in a disused building formerly occupied by NZ’s first McDonald’s.
TEZA is a platform for projects commissioned through arts funding and community initiatives, hosted under one umbrella. Borrowing from the concept of international zones that exploit local resources for multinational needs, TEZA is a way of providing a platform for demonstrating abundance that is not usually recognised. TEZA is a way of providing a platform demonstrating economies of mutual benefit rather than exploitation.

TEZA explores how a group of artists might visit and exchange with others for the local good. Turning the capitalist idea of the special economic zone on its head - where usually regulations are lifted to allow a foreign company to extract resources at the local community’s expense - TEZA will be a site for exchanging ideas, and the workshop and presentation of projects that are about new systems of exchange. TEZA aims to recognise how artists and the public can all contribute to society employing alternative economic models.

In a time when places are increasingly treated as globally homogenous, TEZA - the Transitional Economic Zone of Aotearoa - asks how a group of New Zealand artists can travel under a singular identity and work in a specific place meaningfully as outside agents with local communities.

TEZA is about how temporary experimental art projects can lead to permanent change - because life is transitional, a series of fleeting moments, rather than one governed by permanent structures.

The TEZA model is adapted from that of the Special Economic Zone (SEZ), commonly employed by multinational companies in Asia and Africa to extract resources from a territory. Yet while the SEZ gives people freedom to extract and destroy without oversight, TEZA aims to create an autonomous zone that not only provides freedom from coercion but also the freedom to create new relationships. This allows for the recognition of new systems of value and forms of exchange.

TEZA will provide physical and digital media platforms that extend its reach beyond its physical site. In doing so it seeks to break down isolation of all kinds, creating links and encouraging new kinds of trade and currency locally, nationally and internationally.