ArtCOP21

Touch this earth (sea) lightly

Projet de Bridget Nicholson & Erub Arts

15 - 20 Sep 2015, All Day

Erub Arts, Queensland

2340-8689489ae5cbf2ec1116817c8c6dab0d

Quand

15 - 20 Sep 2015
All Day

Erub Arts
Darnley Island
Torres Strait, Queensland,  4875
Australia
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

« Torres Strait Islanders » viennent conter leurs histoires sur leur relation à l'environnement en ayant en même temps les pieds enveloppés dans l'argile. Des enregistrements sonores et des chaussures d'argile seront intégrés à une grand installation multi-média, révélant les sentiments d'individus à travers toute l'Australie.

« Touch this earth lightly » est un projet artistique qui regroupe des histoires personnelles et leur relation à l'environnement. L'accent est mis sur les aspects émotionnels, culturels et spirituels qui définissent qui nous sommes. Le projet se concentre surtout sur la collecte d’histoire en Australie, parcourant le pays du désert à la mer, l'urbain, le rural, et les lieux isolés. Les individus et les territoires ont été ciblés : des lieux où l'environnement peut être particulièrement fragile et vulnérable, où les communautés et les relations entre individus ont été forgées par le travail et l'histoire.

Darnley Island est l'une des 100 iles de l'est qui constitue le « Torres Strait », une partie de l’État du Queensland, où l'industrie et la vie quotidienne sont étroitement liée à la mer. L'impact de l'augmentation du niveaux des mers est capital pour envisager le futur. C'est ce lieu qu'a choisi le projet « Touch this earth (sea)lighlty » pour s'installer. L'artiste Bridget Nicholson sera à Erub Arts et invite les membre de la communauté à partager leurs histoires en aillant les pieds enduits d'argile. Les enregistrements audios et les chaussures d'argile seront ajoutés à la collection australienne pour être présentés sur l'installation multi-média.

Erub Arts

Tags

, , , ,

Partager

ArtCOP21

Touch this earth (sea) lightly

Installation

15 - 20 Sep 2015, All Day

Erub Arts, Torres Strait

2340-8689489ae5cbf2ec1116817c8c6dab0d

When

15 - 20 Sep 2015
All Day

Where

Erub Arts
Darnley Island
Torres Strait,  4875
Australia
Show on map

Type

Visit website

Torres Strait Islanders share their stories about relationship to the environment whilst having their feet wrapped in clay. Sound and clay shoes will become part of a large collection/multi media installation, revealing the sentiments of people from across Australia.

Touch this earth lightly is an art project that collects people’s stories about their relationship to the environment. The focus is on the emotional, cultural, and spiritual, intrinsic qualities that define who we are. The project has specifically been concerned with collecting stories in Australia, exploring the country from the desert to the sea; the urban, rural, and isolated. People/places have been targeted where the use of land is contested: places where the environment may be particularly fragile or vulnerable, communities where the people/land relationship are noticeably shaped by work and history, or where events may have taken place that challenge or change that relationship.

Darnley Island is one of the eastern most of over 100 islands that make up the Torres Strait, part of the Queensland state of Australia. Industry, livelihood and day to day life rely on the sea. The impact of rising sea levels is paramount in any consideration of the future. This is the location of the last instalment of the project Touch this earth (sea) lightly. Artist Bridget Nicholson will be stationed at Erub Arts and invites members of the community to share their stories whilst having their feet wrapped in clay. The resultant shoes, and audio recordings will be added to the Australia wide collection to be presented as a multi media installation.

Erub Arts

Tags

, , ,

Share