ArtCOP21

WATERWASH Félicite COP21

WATERWASH Projects

28 Nov - 05 Dec 2015, 12 - 5pm

WATERWASH ABC, NY

wetlandoveral_October23.jpg

Lillian Ball

Quand

28 Nov - 05 Dec 2015
12 - 5pm
WATERWASH ABC is located behind ABC Carpet at 1055 Bronx River Avenue, Bronx. Entrance on Bruckner Boulevard Bridge.

WATERWASH ABC
1055 Bronx River Avenue
Bronx, NY,  10472
United States
Voir sur la carte

Type

Visit website

WATERWASH est une série de gestion des eaux pluviales des projets innovants et durables d'art public qui restaurent l'habitat naturel, créer de l'espace public et éduquer les visiteurs sur les questions de bassins versants et le changement climatique.

Situé dans la cour de l'ABC Carpet & Home Bronx Entrepôt, WATERWASH ™ ABC est un projet d'infrastructure verte visant à améliorer la qualité de l'eau dans la rivière Bronx. Les zones humides et des prairies parc filtres riverains polluées évacuation des eaux pluviales d'un parking de 30.000 pieds carrés de beaucoup d'ABC, la canaliser à travers des tuyaux de drainage dans les plantes indigènes plutôt que de laisser couler dans la rivière Bronx. Plantes indigènes à New York, créent des habitats essentiels pour les abeilles, les insectes, les oiseaux et les petits mammifères. En plus d'améliorer la qualité de l'eau de la zone humide sert une éponge naturelle, absorbant niveau des mers, les inondations et les grandes marées, WATERWASH ABC abaisse les eaux de crue rapide et disperse hausse pendant les tempêtes intensification apportés par le changement climatique.



WATERWASH ABC fonctions, non seulement comme un parc naturel pour les visiteurs, mais aussi comme un site éducatif pour les groupes de tous les âges. Equipé d'une aire de pique nique entouré par des panneaux éducatifs et plus de 8000 plantes indigènes, WATERWASH ABC permet au public de profiter de l'espace auparavant inaccessibles, tout en sensibilisant sur la durabilité urbaine, restauration de l'habitat natif, et le changement climatique. WATERWASH ABC ouvre ses portes aux membres de la communauté et les visiteurs loin.

Rocking the Boat est une organisation à but non lucratif basée à Bronx qui a joué un rôle central dans la création et l'entretien de WATERWASH ABC, qui à son tour a fourni un site de l'intendance écologique urbain pour adolescentes emploi environnement compétences apprentis RTB.



WATERWASH ABC a été rendue possible grâce au soutien généreux de l'Office d'Etat de New York du procureur général.

ArtCOP21

WATERWASH Welcomes COP21

WATERWASH Projects

28 Nov - 05 Dec 2015, 12 - 5pm

WATERWASH ABC, NY

wetlandoveral_October23.jpg

Lillian Ball

When

28 Nov - 05 Dec 2015
12 - 5pm
WATERWASH ABC is located behind ABC Carpet at 1055 Bronx River Avenue, Bronx. Entrance on Bruckner Boulevard Bridge.

Where

WATERWASH ABC
1055 Bronx River Avenue
Bronx, NY,  10472
United States
Show on map

Type

Visit website

WATERWASH is a series of innovative, sustainable, storm water management public art projects that restore native habitat, create public space and educate visitors about watershed issues and climate change.

Located in the backyard of the ABC Carpet & Home Bronx Warehouse, WATERWASH™ ABC is a green infrastructure project designed to improve water quality in the Bronx River. The riverfront wetland & grassland park filters polluted storm water discharge from ABC's 30,000-square-foot parking lot, channeling it through drainage pipes into the native plantings rather than letting it flow into the Bronx River. Plants native to New York create essential habitats for bees, insects, birds and small mammals. In addition to improving water quality the wetland serves as a natural sponge, absorbing sea level rise, flooding, and higher tides, WATERWASH ABC lowers flood waters faster and disperses surge during the intensified storms brought by climate change.

WATERWASH ABC functions not only as a natural parkland for visitors but also as an educational site for groups of all ages. Equipped with a picnic area surrounded by educational signage and over 8,000 native plants, WATERWASH ABC allows the public to enjoy previously inaccessible space while raising awareness about urban sustainability, native habitat restoration, and climate change. WATERWASH ABC opens its gates to community members and visitors far and wide.

Rocking the Boat is a Bronx-based non-profit organization that has played a pivotal role in both the creation and maintenance of WATERWASH ABC, which in turn has provided a site of urban ecological stewardship for RTB’s teenage environmental job skills apprentices.

WATERWASH ABC has been made possible through generous support from the New York State Office of the Attorney General.